Motor Vehicle Complaints

Consumer help: motor vehicles and complaints

Here’s a summary of the most important Sections of the Consumer Protection Act.

Motor vehicle consumer complaints

THE CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT 68 OF 2008

This is a summary of the most prominent aspects of the Act and the influence on business environment and especially the motor vehicle industry.

It is important to not to become emotional or aggressive if you encounter a problem with any product as this may hamper your logical negotiations with the other party, especially in transaction where a lot of money is involved, it will be much easier to exchange a toaster than a motor vehicle.

Most people will rather get a third party such as an mediator or lawyer to assist with the negotiations as it is much less stressful to have someone else attending to the dispute.

South Africans are not a litigious society such as the European countries and the USA but the CPA will empower the consumers to understand their rights and equip them with the means to enforce their consumer rights.

THE CORE CONCEPT OF THE ACT

The core concept of the ACT is very clear on the fact that consumers must receive all relevant information pertaining to the services or goods and be informed on all aspects of the product to allow them to make an informed decision when purchasing goods or services.

 MAIN PURPOSE OF THE ACT

Promote fair business practices.

  • To reduce and disadvantages when accessing services and goods.
  • To improve consumer awareness and encourage responsible and informed consumerism.
  • To protect consumers from fraudulent conduct and unfair, unjust and improper trade practices.

CONSEQUENCES OF NON-COMPLIANCE

  • The Act allows onerous public liability risks and this extends from the Manufacturer to the Supplier, including the importers.
  • The Act also allows for administrative fines of up to one million rand or 10% of the respondent’s annual turnover in the preceding financial year.

IMPORTANT LEGAL SHIFTS

Prior to the promulgation of the CPA, it was very difficult for consumers to proof negligence as the burden of proof was with the consumer and it was difficult to sue Dealers/Suppliers.

  • The CPA has shifted the burden of proof to the Supplier who now has to proof that they were not negligent.
  • The standard of proof is also much easier as it is based on the balance of probability.
  • A crucial legal shift was the change in the parole evidence rule. This rule did not allow any external evidence if the parties were committed to written and signed agreements, this rule was relaxed and allows consumers to make use of external evidence such as third party reports and or engineer/specialist reports,  

This is a huge risk for the suppliers and consumers will tend to litigate much easier and cheaper than previously as the Act allows for mediation and conciliation processes which is also much quicker and cheaper than litigation.

The CPA also allows consumers to claim and sue suppliers for damages, including consequential damages, or for any injuries as a result of the use of their products, this claim is irrespective of any negligence on the part of the supplier. 

MOST IMPORTANT CLAUSES IN THE ACT

 Sec 15 Pre-Authorisation of repair or maintenance service

You take your vehicle to the dealer for an oil chance, when collecting the vehicle they informed you that they changed your brake pads and discs and you have to pay an additional cost of the work done.

The Act is clear service providers must not charge for goods unless the provider has given an estimate and the consumer agreed to it. The consumer may refuse to pay for unapproved work done.

Sec 67 Return of parts and material

Your car is out of warranty and you took it for a service, you accept the quote and you doubt if all the parts was replaced as specified on the quotation.

The Act states that the supplier must keep all your parts in a reasonably clean container and they must return it to you, unless it is a warranty or insurance claim.

Sec 54 Right to demand quality service.

The supplier serviced your car and on your arrival they informed you that the work will take an extra two days.

They should have informed you timely of any delays in the execution of the service.

When you collect you vehicle you get a car that is full of oily fingerprints and there is a scratch on the fender, caused by the mechanic’s tools.

The dealership is responsible to remedy the damages or to refund you a fair portion of the price paid.

 Sec 55 Right to safe and good quality goods

 Supplied goods must be able do what they are designed for

  • Be of good quality and free of defects and in working order
  • Be durable and useable for a reasonable time period
  • Comply with the applicable standards or public regulations

It is irrelevant whether the defect was obvious or hidden or whether the consumer should have detected it before delivery.

Goods bought at an auction are excluded from this section.

Sec 56 Implied warranty of quality

This section allows an unspoken condition that every product must carry a warranty of at least six months.

The consumer may return goods to the supplier if it does not comply with the requirements of this section.

The consumer may return the goods:

  • Within six months
  • Without paying a penalty fee.
  • At the risk of the supplier

The consumer can decide if he wants the supplier to repair, replace or refund the product.

Sec 57 Warranty on repaired goods.

A service provider must guarantee reconditioned or new part installed during any repair or maintenance work for a period of three months.

Sec 61 Liability for damages

This section deals with the liability of all parties in the supply chain, from the manufacturer to the supplier.

Consumers can claim for liability in the following instances:

 In case of death.

  • Injury or illness of any person.
  • Loss of or physical damage to movable or immovable property.
  • Damage or harm, caused by not giving enough instructions or warnings.

For Motor Vehicle Complaints Click Here

215 thoughts on “Motor Vehicle Complaints

  1. Isabel Marant Sneakers says:

    I leave a response when I like a article on a site or if I
    have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation.

    It is a result of the sincerness communicated in the article I read.
    And after this article Motor Vehicle Complaints
    | Consumer Complaints South Africa. I was actually moved enough to post a thought :
    ) I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be simply me or does it look as if like some of these responses appear like
    written by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are
    posting at additional places, I’d like to keep up with
    you. Would you make a list the complete urls
    of your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  2. admin says:

    Dear Isabel,
    It is not always possible to understand the logic behind peoples comments and ideas but we also understand that a lot of our clients are coming from different cultures and do not always understand the complications and detail of the ACT.

    You are more than welcome to post any fair comments and share important information as there are a lot of unscrupulous suppliers who will clearly be dishonest in their dealings with the public and will always try to make a quick buck.

    I do not post on any other sites as I am too busy and handling about 300 complaints per week.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  3. admin says:

    Dear Watch dogs pc,
    Thanks for your positive comments, I would love if potential buyers will do a bit more homework on the pro’s and cons as well as their rights before they enter into a buying a motor vehicle as we all know that Vehicles in South Africa is very expensive and you have to be very sure before you purchase a vehicle.
    Kind regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  4. MDuPreez says:

    Hi Duon

    Thank you for the effort that you put into the website to assist consumers. Just wanted to ask a question. Who do I contact if I already lodged a complaint with the NCC, but the NCC does now not respond to emails, or calls?

    Regards

  5. Nompumelelo says:

    I drive the New Jeep Campas which I bought early August last year on Friday the 20th of December 2013. While driving to work on M1 North I heard a loud bang sound and looked around thinking maybe a back window broke or something. The sunroof was opened, which means it was covered by the car roof top. So I only noticed that the sunroof had burst when I tried to close it after parking the car at work.
    On the same morning I called the sales person there Neo so that she may help me to resolve the problem but she never called me back until I sent her an sms to call me back and explained to her that this is a factory fault and I needed urgent assistance. She said I must call the repairs department and book it in. I did that and they said I must book it at Fourway’s, which I did too.
    I had to leave the car at Fourways this morning where they told me that they have to follow protocol and will let me know if they will replace the sunroof or if I have to pay for it. I am so frustrated that I have to drive a new car that is covered with plastics, go up and down and sort myself out with no help from the branch I bought the car from. My biggest problem is that no one wants to resolve this issue and it is easy for them to just shift me to the next person. This is not right, there is no after sale relationship and I feel like I am just banging on the wall and am running out of patience since this has gone for over Three weeks now.

    The only answer the manager gave me was, they can not help me.

  6. induction cooktop portable as Seen on tv says:

    My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find almost all of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.
    can you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on many
    of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again,
    awesome weblog!

  7. admin says:

    Dear consumer,

    I have noted your complaint and believe that our case administrator contacted you with a personal e-mail.

    If we have missed you for some reason, please forgive us and forward your complaint to Info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za and Marleen will contact you with further assistance and advice.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  8. admin says:

    Dear Consumer,
    The NCC is a National body, established to assist with consumer Complaints but at this stage they are totally swamped with cases from all sectors of the industry and it may take quite a few months to get a resolution on the dispute.
    As an alternative you can either make use of private mediation or litigate the dispute.
    Should you need more information, kindly contact Marleen at info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za or more assistance.
    Kind regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  9. Franco says:

    Hi
    A month ago I bought a car with defects and I would like the previous owner to repair the car or take it back and refund me. Where do I lodge a complaint to the NCC and how long does it normally take to resolve? I do only have 2 months left to get this resolved.
    This will be my fist time that I have to do this and I need quick and effective guidance please?

  10. admin says:

    Dear Tony,

    I have tried to contact you but could not get mail to you.

    Please contact me on info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za and I will discuss the matter regarding the blog and articles with you.

    I would really love to see that consumers get involved in a blog to assist them in making more informed decisions on the purchase of a new vehicle or product.

    Regards,
    Duon.

  11. Seelan Pather says:

    I have ordered a new car. I was quoted on the car 8 months ago when I made the order. There has been a price increase since then. I would like to know whether the dealership has to abide to the old quote or do they have a right to charge me the new price. (There was a 8 month waiting period for the car) I just feel that surely it is not my fault that they want to sell a product that they dont have stock on. Why should I have to be the one paying more if the dealership could not deliver on time. What is the CPA rules?

  12. admin says:

    Dear Seelan,

    Normally the client will be responsible for the price increase as most offers to purchase will indicate that the quotation is only valid for five days.

    If the offer to purchase indicate a fixed price the dealer will be obliged to sell at the agreed price.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  13. reviews of derm exclusive says:

    I’vе been surfiոg online more than 2 hours today, yet I
    never fouոd any iոteresting article like yours. It’s pretty
    worth enough for me. In my oρinion, if all website
    owners and bloggers made goοd content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  14. admin says:

    Dear Reader,

    Thanks for the possitive remark.

    We strive to assist our clients with the best possible information.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  15. mohapi says:

    ❓ Hi
    I bought a car in December 2013, this year in march took the car for service. I was quoted around +R32000(worn out parts) and told the warrenty I bought with the car can only pay R2750. My Q is do I have take the car back dealer to fix since I have driven the car for less than 1200km and less than 3months.

  16. AViwe Ngcingwana says:

    Hi, I bought a Vw Scirocco in Feb 2012 & had issues with oil consumption within the first 10 000km a consumption test was done on the vehicle & Vw informed me it was normal for the vehicle to use around a pint every 10 000km which i questioned & was told it is normal for their cars. The oil consumption has gotten worse where by the low oil warning light came & I had to top up oil 2000km after the vehicle was Serviced Vw now says to me there is a fault with vehicle & they will need to change the pistons & rings on the car which I find very unaceptable as I do not expect this to be done on a 2yr old vehicle, Personally I don’t want a vehicle that’s had its engine opened & rebuilt & I don’t know how Vwsa expects me to live with that. I cant even trade in the vehicle as I will take a loss as the car is only 2 yrs old now I want to know what recourse I have against Vwsa. Ive been stranded twice with the vehicle due to breakdowns & I no longer have faith in the car.

  17. Chikondi says:

    Hi
    I sent my car to a reputable autoworks repair shop after it lost power. It was found that the ignition coil ‘burnt’. The repair shop replaced the coil and promised the car would be fine.

    A few days later it stopped working again. I returned the vehicle to the repair shop and they made me pay for the new coil and promised to check if it was a suppliers fault. After replacing the coil again, my car has returned to them 3 times with the same problem (within a 4 week period). All they would do is replace the part and charge me for the labour and not the part.

    At the last breakdown they promised to find the root cause of the problem. My car has been with them for 3 weeks now and everytime I call they say that they are still working on it, I won’t be charged for the coil, but will be charged for labour and any parts replaced. The battery was now flat and had to be replaced.

    Please help. I’d like to know if I can have a refund on all the money I have been paying everytime they failed to find the cause of the problem without even being given a car to use over these last 3 weeks.

  18. admin says:

    Dear Chikondi,

    Sec 57 of the Act states that all parts must carry a minimum warranty of three months, labour included in the warranty.

    Our case administrator will contact you with more information.

    Regards,

    Duon.

  19. admin says:

    Dear consumer,

    I am not sure if you are the first owner but the oil consumption is quite a lot, depending on the mileage of the vehicle.

    If the engine is rebuilt by an approved VW workshop it should last for a long time, it is not always viable to try and rescind the contract as the vehicle is already two years old and depreciation will be a great factor.

    Please contact our case administrator for more information on possible solutions.

    Mail to info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  20. admin says:

    Dear Mohapi,

    The vehicle should carry a six month warranty against latent and patent defects. You have a right to have your vehicle repaired, replaced or refunded if it is not of the prescribed quality.

    Please contact our case administrator at info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za for more information on your options and way forward.

    Regards,

    Duon.

  21. Parchet Triplu Stratificat says:

    It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.

    I look forward to brand new updates and will share this blog with my Facebook group.

    Chat soon!

  22. admin says:

    Dear consumer,

    Thanks for the positive remarks, we would love to do regular updated but at this stage we are handling about two hundred complaints per day by giving advice to consumers and we assist with about 150 mediation processes per month.
    Our biggest problem is Father Time.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  23. fifa 14 key generator download says:

    Hello there! This is my 1st comment here
    so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and say I genuinely enjoy reading
    through your posts. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same topics? Thank you so much!

  24. pezzi di ricambio motori marini says:

    What’s Taking place i’m new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered
    It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out loads.
    I’m hoping to give a contribution & aid different customers like its aided me.
    Great job.

  25. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Thanks for the positive feedback I really appreciate it.

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  26. Freddy says:

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always helpful to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from their web
    sites.

  27. electronic says:

    Attractive part of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact loved account your blog posts.
    Anyway I’ll be subscribing in your feeds or even I achievement you
    get entry to constantly fast.

  28. Tristan says:

    I don’t even understand how I ended up here, but I assumed this publish used to be good.
    I don’t understand who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger in the event you are not already.
    Cheers!

  29. rims and tires says:

    Awesome blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for
    a paid option? There are so many choices out there that
    I’m completely confused .. Any tips? Cheers!

  30. move to hawaii says:

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue on the topic of this piece of writing at this
    place at this website, I have read all that, so at this time me
    also commenting here.

  31. office depot says:

    Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wondering your situation; many
    of us have developed some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange methods with others, please shoot me an email if interested.

  32. acquista ricambi auto says:

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which webhost you’re working with?
    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Cheers, I appreciate it!

  33. www.salto-recordings.com says:

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot
    about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but
    instead of that, this is magnificent blog. A
    fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

  34. move to hawaii with nothing says:

    I think that what you said made a ton of sense.
    But, what about this? suppose you were to write a
    killer title? I mean, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, however suppose you added
    something that makes people want more? I mean Motor Vehicle Complaints | Consumer
    Complaints South Africa is kinda boring. You could peek at Yahoo’s home page
    and see how they create news titles to get people to click.
    You might add a video or a pic or two to grab people interested about what
    you’ve got to say. In my opinion, it could bring your
    posts a little livelier.

  35. 3 in 1 trike says:

    I’m extremely impressed together with your writing talents
    as neatly as with the format on your blog. Is that this a paid subject or did
    you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent quality
    writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice blog
    like this one nowadays..

  36. common cheap windows vps says:

    Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea
    shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and
    screamed. There was a hermit crab inside
    and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  37. the best online shopping says:

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog
    and wished to mention that I’ve really loved surfing around your weblog posts.

    After all I will be subscribing on your feed and
    I’m hoping you write again very soon!

  38. acquista ricambi says:

    Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having
    a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to
    ask!

  39. seo vps says:

    What’s up all, here every one is sharing these experience, therefore it’s good to read
    this website, and I used to pay a quick visit this webpage daily.

  40. admin says:

    Dear Reader,
    Thanks for the good wishes.
    We are receiving about 200 complaints daily and really do not have time to add more article but will post new information on vehicle finance shortly.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  41. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Thanks for the compliment, we are using WordPress and added OS tickets to the system.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  42. admin says:

    Dear Reader,
    Thanks for the good wishes.
    We are receiving about 200 complaints daily and really do not have time to add more article but will post new information on vehicle finance shortly.
    I will have an article ready on baloon financing.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  43. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    Thanks for the comment and watch the site we are trying to post new article on a monthly basis.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  44. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    This site is basically designed with the primary intension to assist the South African motoring public to understand the newly published Consumer Protection Act and to assist them to understand their consumer rights, especially when purchasing a motor vehicle.
    We are just too busy to assist consumers with complaints and solutions on how to solve their disputes and therefore we will not really try and add bells and whistles to the site.
    Thanks for the comments, I really appreciate.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  45. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    The framework was designed by my Web designer and the content is my own.
    The main objective of the site is to assist the South African motoring consumers with valuable advice.
    Kindest regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  46. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    We are in the process to try and add new articles on a monthly basis and will also look at a technical blog to explain some basic maintenace tips for vehicle owners.
    I am trying to get an writer to assist with the technical stuff.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  47. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    You can contact me by making use of the Contact Us page or by making use of the ticket system under Submit Complaint tabs.

    Regards,
    Duon.

  48. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    At this stage we are not really receiving spam but we do receive a tremendous amount of complaints against suppliers.
    Regards,
    Duon.

  49. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    Thanks for your positive feedback, you are welcome to comment on any motor related topic as we are struggling to get interesting topics.
    Regards,
    Duon.

  50. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    I would stick to WordPress or something similar.
    In my view you must pick a topic that you are passionate about and do have enough knowledge and experience to manage.
    Best of luck with your future site.
    Regards,
    Duon.

  51. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    Thanks for the positive and kind words.
    I am involved in the motor, legal and engineering industry for the past thirty years.
    Regards,
    Duon

  52. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    We are trying to expand the content of the site but time is a serious problem at this stage.
    regards,
    Duon.

  53. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    This is an very large field to cover and therefore I have decided to limit my expertise to motor vehicles.
    I would love to see bloggers to cover the other industries such as fast foods, clothing etc.
    Regards,
    Duon.

  54. mobile 9 games says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I am going to watch out for
    brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

  55. Instagram Followers Hack says:

    This is the perfect webpage for anybody who
    wants to understand this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that
    I actually will need to…HaHa). You definitely put
    a fresh spin on a topic which has been written about for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

  56. admin says:

    Thanks for the comment we would like the motoring public to understand the loopholes of the industry.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon.

  57. Elton says:

    I’m sure you’ve heard this over and over but very informative site you have. I’ve read so many articles on the CPA and probably know it by heart.

    Unfortunately I’m one of the unlucky persons who purchased a vehicle on 20th January 2014 from a dealer in Knysna, financed by the bank and on route back to Cape Town after 350km I checked the oil and there was NOTHING in. I purchased 4 x 500ml oil and contacted the dealer the next day and sent an email asking how this could happen and who do I hold responsible should something happen to the engine 3 to 6 month downs the line.

    Any way the same thing happened on the 2nd April 2014 on route to WINDHOEK,NAMIBIA after 560km,empty, no oil and when I reached Windhoek eventually it took 8 x 500ml oil to refill. Car is still in Windhoek waiting to be repaired by the agents via Motorite but I DON’T want the car any more.

    I spoke to the dealer and they want to offer another vehicle but I don’t have any faith in them (dealer).

    Can they deny me and refuse to settle with the bank that provided the finance?

    That’s the only vehicle we have to commute to work and the kids to school and I cannot afford a lengthy process because I’m paying to use another persons car.

    Once again GREAT site.

    Regards

    Elton

  58. admin says:

    Dear Elton,

    I really do understand your position but would suggest that you try and negotiate that the dealer rather replace the vehicle with a vehicle of similar specifications and value at it can become very expensive to uplift the existing contract but it is much cheaper to do a replacement or substitute product.

    You can also request the dealer to send the substitute vehicle for an Dekra AA inspection or take it to an approved workshop for a inspection.

    Should you need more information please contact us by sending an e-mail to info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  59. mobile games says:

    Hi! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog such as yours
    require a lot of work? I’m brand new to writing a blog however I do
    write in my diary daily. I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and feelings online.

    Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for new aspiring bloggers.
    Appreciate it!

  60. touch mobile games says:

    I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website.
    I am hoping to view the same high-grade content from you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me
    to get my own blog now 😉

  61. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    Thanks for the nice comment, I am trying my best to get readers to understand the industry as well as the Consumer Protection Act.
    Kindest regards,
    Duon.

  62. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    The idea was not to start a blog but rather to convey and educate my readers to understand the Act as well as the loopholes in the industry.
    I believe that a blog will keep you extremely busy, especially if the topic is valuable and usable.
    Kind regards,
    Duon.

  63. second says:

    I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever
    work and coverage! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve
    included you guys to my own blogroll.

    My page second

  64. Chris says:

    Hi i want some assistance please Duon, I bought a 2nd hand 4×4 middle Febr 2014 by a accredited dealer, the sales person told me the engin is completely re done and the cluth as well, the car did 14000 km with the new engin. I did less then 3000 km and the clutch gave me problems i phoned the salesman and his manager on numerous times with out answering my calls leaving them messages that their is a problem with the clutch my problem is i am 700 km from them staying i a rural area with out any assistance from a workshop i bought the car in Pretoria and i am now stranded, What can i do now, i do have guest to transport around, can i asked them to fetch the car at their cost to be fixed. I phoned Jeep for a quote on the parts, if the fly wheel is damaged R12500 rest of kit R4500 without labor, i did spend a lot of money on bushes which i dont understand how AA could not pick that up on the point test which i have to paid for.
    Regards
    Chris

  65. some says:

    Hello, this weekend is good in favor of me, because this occasion i am reading this
    enormous educational piece of writing here at my residence.

    My web-site – some

  66. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    The information is based on the newly promulgated South African Consumer Protection Act.

    Kind regards,

    Duon.

  67. admin says:

    Chris,

    The CPA is clear that the vehicle must carry a six month warranty from date of purchase and the dealer is supposed to assist you with the repairs to the vehicle.
    Transport to their workshops is always a problem.

    You are welcome to contact our case administrator for more information and assistance on the specific matter.

    Please mail to info@saconsumercomplaints.co.za or phone 012 755 5277.

    Kind regards,

    Duon.

  68. get Girls in leeds says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you
    relied on the video to make your point. You obviously know what youre
    talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog
    when you could be giving us something informative to read?

  69. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    As far a I know and remember I have never posted any video on the site.

    If there is video material please supply me with a link to have it checked.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  70. Strony internetowe says:

    You are so cool! I don’t think I’ve read anything like this
    before. So good to discover another person with
    some unique thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thank you for starting this up.
    This website is something that’s needed on the web, someone with some originality!

  71. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Thanks for visiting my site and also for the great comments.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon.

  72. seat says:

    I tend not to leave many responses, but i did some searching and wound up here Motor
    Vehicle Complaints | Consumer Complaints South Africa. And I do have
    some questions for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it look like some of these responses appear as if they are written by brain dead
    individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing at additional places, I would like to keep
    up with everything new you have to post. Would you list of every one of all your social
    sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    My web page … seat

  73. admin says:

    Dear reader,
    Have noted some unfamiliar responses and do not always understand the comments.
    The idea was to establish an ordinary website but for some reason we landed up with a blog page instead of a static page.
    I am not writing any other articles but I am busy with a new and interesting toppic on vehicle finance.
    Regards,
    Duon Odendaal.

  74. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    I am not really sure if there are much similar websites with this type of information.

    Thanks for spending time to read and visit my site.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  75. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Thanks a lot for your support and timr to read the information, it will hopefully assist reader in future dealing with suppliers.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  76. Lynetter says:

    This is a very interesting article. I have a case where I bought a car from a legitimate big name brand Dealer. They never registered my car 3 months after purchase. They did not supply me with the necessary documents. The sales person even claimed to have had the car serviced but never gave the service record.
    3months later, the camshaft broke and the car is grounded.
    I gave them an opportunity to fix the car but they said if they do it, it will be on my account.
    I have tried to exercise my right to cancel the deal and have a refund and that has been met with resistance. Can they just get away with this?

  77. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator for more information on the way forward.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  78. Chiuveta says:

    Excellent blog you have here but I was curious if you knew of
    any message boards that cover the same topics discussed in this article?
    I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get responses from other knowledgeable people
    that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Bless you!

  79. Capture His Heart says:

    Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I have really loved browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping
    you write once more very soon!

  80. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    I am not aware of similar sites as the Consumer Protection Act is a reasonably new Act in South Africa and my target group is mainly the motor industry.

    I am quite sure that there is quite a lot of similar information in the international arena.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  81. Martin says:

    Hi Duon,

    Congrats on a very helpful website. I was wondering how protected are we as consumers on warranty issues when installing fuel saving equipment or additives onto or into existing new vehicles, which are supplied as aftermarket products. ( by example myself )
    . In light of the Magnuson -Moss Warranty Act from the US. Which I have studied quiet extensively and made sure I have understood the Act clearly ( it clearly provides legal right to the consumer to apply after market products without loosing his or her right to claim in warranty should a unrelated malfunction occur) – sadly I cannot find any current act in place for South African law , I am concerned that my after market product which I am currently in the process to complete my R&D on- which is a fuel saving devices and being in my final stages of patent application ( yes it is working 100%!) could be hugely impacted by the general warranty clauses from motor vehicle suppliers and manufacturers and hamper my marketability of my product and services. ( it is not a chip or oil additive or something that has to me modified on the car – it is a simple yet expensive after market unit) which really does save fuel.

    I have extracted a short brief from a local Co ( with similar context ) which best explains the US Act. I am not sure if we as local industry are equally protected in South Africa. As follows :-
    Vehicle and engine manufacturer warranties apply to the specific products they manufacture. Fuel or fuel additives are not covered under a vehicle warranty. Under the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Act (US), if an engine experiences a malfunction due to parts and workmanship while under warranty, and it is not related to the fuel, it must be covered under the OEM’s warranty. Conversely, if it is determined that an engine malfunction is caused by the fuel used, it would become the responsibility of the fuel supplier to correct the problem.

    Based on this extract I am very comfortable to warrant my own product as it’s performance and hopefully as well as ensure and cover any costs of damages it may cause should it be so proven, but in light of my research on local warranty documents supplied by most vehicle manufacturers – should I prove our product did not cause any damage, how would the consumer be covered under his current vehicle manufacturer warranty should such a claim be made in warranty period ?. I have taken the matter up with my legal team, but I am convinced that with Your comment or lead on the above information would be most helpful and could possibly lead me into the right direction.

    Kind
    Regards M

  82. accompagnatori Leeds says:

    May I simply just say what a relief to discover somebody that actually understands what they’re talking about on the net.
    You definitely understand how to bring an issue to light and
    make it important. More and more people must check this
    out and understand this side of the story. It’s
    surprising you’re not more popular given that you surely
    possess the gift.

  83. admin says:

    Dear Reader,

    Thanks for taking the time to visit my site.

    I do not use twitter or any other social media as my time is totally to limited at this stage.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  84. Paulina says:

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social
    networks!

  85. bedroom Toys shop says:

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be
    aware of. I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about worries
    that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole thing without having
    side effect , people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get
    more. Thanks

    Also visit my blog :: bedroom Toys shop

  86. dragons rise of berk cheats says:

    First of all I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a
    quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your thoughts prior to writing.
    I have had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my
    thoughts out there. I do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any suggestions or hints? Thank you!

  87. fat joe says:

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to
    seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your website in my
    social networks!

  88. best uk web host says:

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered
    It positively helpful and it has helped me out loads. I hope to contribute
    & aid different users lkke itts helped me.
    Good job.

    Also visit my web blog; best uk web host

  89. weight loss gummies says:

    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new apple iphone!
    Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts!
    Keep up the superb work!

  90. geometry dash hack says:

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site.
    It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more pleasant for me to come
    here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Superb work!

  91. dragonvale hack says:

    Hey there I am so glad I found your website, I really
    found you by mistake, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am
    here now and would just like to say thank you for a marvelous post and a
    all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to look over it all at the moment but I have
    book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic b.

  92. easy diet plans says:

    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills
    and also with the layout on your weblog. Is
    this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a
    great blog like this one today.

  93. Julissa says:

    magnificent points altogether, you simply gained a new reader.
    What might you recommend in regards to your publish that you just made some days ago?
    Any positive?

    Have a look at my web-site: premium Woocommerce themes; Julissa,

  94. weight loss zone diet says:

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a
    similar one and i was just wondering if you get a
    lot of spam feedback? If so how do you stop it,
    any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any support is very much appreciated.

  95. Hostgator Coupon says:

    Thanks for some other magnificent article. Where else could
    anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal
    approach of writing? I’ve a presentation subsequent week, and I’m at the search for
    such info.

    Here is my weblog; Hostgator Coupon

  96. http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x20yexo_bouygues-telecom-wifi-identifiant-sfr-bouygues-free_videogames says:

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it but, I’d like to shoot you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

    My web blog … http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x20yexo_bouygues-telecom-wifi-identifiant-sfr-bouygues-free_videogames

  97. Charlie says:

    Hi there to all, it’s really a good for me to pay a quick visit this site, it contains helpful
    Information.

    Feel free to surf to my page: prizee jeton (Charlie)

  98. Joycelyn says:

    First off I want to say superb blog! I had a quick
    question in which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your
    head prior to writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out
    there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes tend to be wasted just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any ideas or tips? Kudos!

  99. green building interior design says:

    These devices and tricks that architects learn can greatly reduce the amount of tragedies that occur.
    Architects are also recommending marble to be used in kitchens and
    bathrooms. Building decks and patios requires lot of planning
    and considerations.

  100. Richlanddrugrehab says:

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find
    nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m
    looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content to
    suit your needs? I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some of
    the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome web site!

    my website … Richlanddrugrehab

  101. research engine optimization says:

    Hi outstanding blog! Does running a blog like this take a massive amount work?
    I’ve no expertise in programming however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any
    ideas or tips for new blog owners please share. I know this is off
    topic but I just needed to ask. Cheers!

    Feel free to visit my weblog … research engine optimization

  102. alcohol abuse symptoms says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up.
    The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Opera.

    I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something
    to do with web browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the problem
    solved soon. Kudos

    My website: alcohol abuse symptoms

  103. Yumadrugrehab says:

    Hello There. I discovered your blog the usage of msn. That is a
    really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it
    and return to read more of your helpful information. Thanks for the post.
    I will definitely comeback.

    My web site – Yumadrugrehab

  104. silkn flash and go review says:

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say
    that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  105. Brent says:

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any issues
    of plagorism or copyright violation? My site has a lot of unique content
    I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know
    any methods to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    my web site … tulsa transmission repair shop (Brent)

  106. brave frontier cheats says:

    I simply couldn’t go away your site before suggesting that I actually loved the usual information an individual provide on your visitors?
    Is going to be back continuously to inspect new posts

  107. Shauna says:

    Ahaa, its nice diaogue regarding this article
    at this place at this weblog, I haave read all that, so now mme
    also commenting at this place.

    my web blog homepage [Shauna]

  108. Abbie says:

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems
    as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence
    on just posting videos to your weblog when you could be giving
    us something informative to read?

  109. drive.ilovetheory.com says:

    I am really impressed along with your writing talents as neatly as
    with the structure for your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self?
    Either way stay up the nice high quality writing, it is rare to peer a nice blog like this one these days..

    my site – drive.ilovetheory.com

  110. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    It is always difficult to protect your information and I am not sure what to do to protect the information.

    The only advantage is that if you copy information it does not meat that you have specialist knowledge on the subjects and the readers will tend to investigate your information and then they will decide if you are specialist or a fraudster.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  111. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    Thanks for your input, I am also using Opera but could not find the pages that you mentioned.

    It is possible that the settings on your PC is not the same as mine.

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  112. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    There are some other sites but as far as I know there is not much South African sites on the specific topics as the Consumer Protection Act is quite a new ACT in the South African industry.

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  113. voyance says:

    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could
    we communicate?

    My homepage … voyance

  114. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    You can create your blog by making use of Word-press.

    The rest is straight forward:

    1) Know your topic inside out.
    2) Plan properly.
    3) Select a topic that is of value to the readers.
    4) Hard work and continues research on your topics.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  115. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    As far as I know there is no video’s on the site, I am not even using a lot of graphics.

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  116. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    See my previous remarks on this question.

    I will normally make short notes and the apply my mind to the detail when I start with the final writing of the document.

    Regards,

    Duon

  117. tanahabang.center says:

    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this
    board and I find It truly helpful & it helped me
    out much. I’m hoping to present something back and aid
    others such as you aided me.

  118. vendre bitcoin says:

    Your style is unique compared to other people
    I have read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you’ve got the opportunity,
    Guess I’ll just book mark this page.

  119. Schalk Louw says:

    I bought a new vehicle; afterwards (within the first week) I saw that the perpex cover of the speedometer is cracked. The company wants to replace the defect, which I argue would render the vehicle to be ‘second hand’. I want another car – what are my rights?

  120. Kia says:

    Interesting blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would really make my
    blog stand out. Please let me know where you
    got your design. Many thanks

  121. minnie driver skincare review says:

    Just ԝant to say youг article is аs amazing. The clarity in your post is
    simply cool and i can think you are a professіonal in this subject.
    Fine with your permission let me to seiƶe your feed
    to kеep updated with coming near near post. Thank you a million and please continue the
    enjoyaƄle work.

  122. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    The theme was custom made by professional designer.

    Kindest regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  123. admin says:

    Dear Consumer,

    This is not a serious defect and the manufacturer will replace the damaged component in terms of your warranty.

    The supplier will normally replace a vehicle if there is a serious defect on the vehicle.

    In terms of the Law your vehicle will still be a new vehicle as long as it does not change hands the registration document will indicate the status as “New”.

    Kind regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  124. http://ww.tinyurl.com/ says:

    Ңi! This is my 1st comment hегe so I juѕt wanted to giѵe a quick shout oout and say
    I really enjoy reading yoսr articleѕ. Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the sam
    topіcs? Thanks for yօur time!

  125. admin says:

    Dear reader,

    I am not aware of any local websites with similar content.

    Regards,

    Duon Odendaal.

  126. Cello says:

    Good Day

    I require assistance for a vehicle my fiancé and I purchased a vehicle.

    The Vehicle is a Hyundai I10, there were several complications at point of sale however we were assured they would be dealt with. We were also pitched a service history book which was pivotal in us concluding any deal.

    To date we got no service history book and rather decided to cancel, we were told by the sales representative that we can not cancel at first bit was later told we must pay R3000 cancelation fee.

    My fiancé never signed or read any terms and condition that mentioned a cancelation fee, we agreed to then pay the fee and was told we must cover mileage. The only use of the vehicle we made was too and fro from the dealership and home.

  127. Evan says:

    I purchased a second hand vehicle from a car dealer. Everything seemed perfectly in order until I tried changing ownership.

    I was told the car was last registered in 2014. The disk on the windshield shows 2018 which means the fraudulently printed.

    The car won’t pass roadworthy in the state it was sold to me in and I was under the impression the car had passed all the roadworthy tests

    Please help me or point me in the right direction to get my problem sorted.

  128. Vusumuzi Nyati says:

    Good day. 

    I saw a bakkie online and l sent my young brother to go and check it. He was instead shown a wrong bakkie and l was told the bakkie was on demand so if lm interested l should pay a deposit of R5000. I made the payment but on getting to the garage l found that the bakkie was accident damaged and not properly repaired. It was also a different bakkie than what l had seen online. On demanding my deposit l was told its non refundable but they would rather give me a discount instead. I wasnt interested in the bakkie anymore and just wanted my deposist back. Is it possible to get my deposit back?

  129. Frans says:

    I am struggling with a motor mechanic who repaired my car and a month later and more than R7200 later the same problem

  130. Andy says:

    Good day

    I recently swopped my BMW 318i 2nd hand for a Mercedes Benz c2400 2nd hand with another party and he failed to mention that there was a problem with the gearbox of the Mercedes Benz… After driving for only 1day the vehicle gear is stuck in 1st gear and its an automatic… I went to see the guy to resolve the matter by either fixing the gearbox or return my BMW and he is refusing..

    What do I do in this instance..

    Robby

  131. Nokukhanya says:

    I took my car to car doctor in Brackenfell so that they can diagnose the problem. The reason I agreed to.take my car to them, they told me this exercise is free. Later on I must pay R12000 because there is a problem with clutch/gearbox.

    I told them not to go ahead with repairing the car,he refused, telling me to.organise the funds.
    I don’t have. R12000′

    I can keep the car at home and use public transport until I’m right.

  132. Nonhlanhla Makhanya says:

    I bought a flat deck trailer but the disk is written heavy duty ven body I didn’t know that they is something wrong up until police stop my driver on the road. When I call my sales man and explain everything he was very rude pretend as if he doesn’t know what I’m talking about. My friend who is familiar with this thing call him.no Sales man told him that he change a ven body trailer to flat deck trailer he didn’t know that they is anything wrong by doing that. The next day I call him to take his trailer back and give me my money he refused so I need help

  133. Patronella mukendi says:

    Dear Sir ,I bought a car with no finance cars on a rent to own contract.I missed a payment on the 15/06/19 with proper consultation of course but on 25/06/18 they inform to repossess the car with R3000 collection fee .is this fair consumer practice if I never missed a payment and was not informed of such a clause when buying the car,unless I missed reading it when I was going through the contract.

    Kindly advice.

    Patronella Mukendi

  134. Brenda says:

    I bought a motor from firm wave Pretoria last year Oct till now I did not receive my MOTOR DOCUMENT.PLS ASSIST.FROM MAKOFANE N.Z

  135. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  136. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  137. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  138. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  139. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  140. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  141. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  142. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

  143. admin says:

    Dear consumer,
    My appologies for the late reply, I have noted your complaint during routine maintenance of the website.
    Please be so kind and contact our case administrator at admin@saconsumercomplaints.co.za with regards to
    your complaint.
    Kindest regards,
    The maintenance team.

Comments are closed.